RMCAANA Executive Council 2019

Zahid Rafiq

. Zahid Rafiq MD, CCFP, FCFP
Dr. Zahid Rafiq is currently working as GP/Surgeon in Calgary, Alberta Canada. He practices family medicine, performs office based procedures and teaches procedural skills to family medicine residents at Cumming School of Medicine-University of Calgary. He is a board member for MOSAIC primary care network. He is an assessor for Preliminary Clinical Assessment Program by College of Physicians and Surgeon of Alberta (CPSA) for foreign graduates and examiner for Certification examination in Family Medicine.
Dr. Zahid Rafiq is a graduate of 1990 batch. He worked with Doctors Without Borders in Zimbabwe for Mozambican refugees in 1993/94. He moved to South Africa in 1995 where he did his surgical training before moving to Canada in 2002. His mission for 2019 is to bring Rawalians in North America together and strengthen RMCAANA

Samina Qureshi, MD

President Elect
Samina is a 1992 graduate of RMC and currently is Vice President in the Health Science and Pharma Domain. Currently working within Federal agencies such as FDA. Her focus is in Centers for Drug Evaluation and Research. Published author in numerous industry journals and invited presenter at international conferences. Demonstrated strengths in program development and supervision, client relations and support, and strategic planning. She has completed her post graduate studies with M.Sc. in Regulatory Science from Johns Hopkin University, Maryland

Board of Trustees


The Board of Trustees is composed of members of the RMCAANA. They may advise the Central Council on long range and strategic planning for the Association.


Nadeem Afraz (4 year term)
Email: chairbot@rmcdocs.com


  • Avais Masud, MD (4 year term)
  • Babar Rao, MD (4 year term)
  • Jamil Khan, MD (4 year term)
  • Talat Kheshgi, MD (2 year term)
  • Aamer Nawaz, MD (2 year term)
  • Amer Akmal, MD (2 year term)
  • Shahid Rafiq, MD (2 year term)


Over the past year RMCAANA’s vision has expanded and the executive council has recognized the need to focus on various areas to improve the organization’s functionality and provide opportunities for the alumni to participate and contribute in the growth of our organization. For this purpose RMCAANA executive council has developed several new committees to address various focus areas. We encourage all Rawalian’s to volunteer some of your time based on your interest and expertise. Please contact RMCAANA president or the chairs of respective committees if you would like to contribute your time and expertise.


Executive Director:

Nadeem Iqbal, MD (4 year term)

Chairman Board of Trustee:

Nadeem Afraz, MD



This Committee will be responsible for reviewing and developing recommendations for amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws to keep the organizational structure and function responsive to the current needs. The Committee shall organize educational programs for the leadership of the Association regarding parliamentary procedure and conduct of meetings, etc.

Committee Chair: Nasir Gondal , MD


  • Nadeem Afraz, MD
  • Shahid Rafiq, MD